9:57:00 AM
I will show you how to create a rock band layout ( music layout )
As usual i will start with a new document with the following sizes 760x770 pixels
For the background color i will choose white, then create another layer right above the background layer, and fill it with black
With BRUSH TOOL i will add some great brushes
You can download a great set of Grunge border brushes from
I will choose a orange color #f26826, and with the BRUSH TOOL, i will add the brush like in the following image
Now we have to rotate the brush. the easy way is to flip the brush. After i will change the brush angle, i will choose another color #09b0f0
You can repeat the steps from above, as many times as you want. be sure you place some nice grunge border brushes like in the following image:
I will select the layer right above the background layer, and with Eraser TOOL
i will delete the margins with the following brush
and with this brush selected i will start deleting the margins of the black layer
and this is my result so far
With the same grunge brush i have deleted the other parts of the layout
Now i will create some buttons with RECTANGLE TOOL
and i will create a small rectangle with the following layer styles
DROP SHADOW :
INNER SHADOW :
BEVEL AND EMBOSS:
COLOR OVERLAY:
STROKE:
At the end you will have something like this
I will grab ERASER TOOL and i will load the following brush Orange vector Brush
After you select this brush, please press on the " [ " until you have a small brush
and when you are happy with the size of the brush, you can delete some random parts of your button ( please note that you need to rasterize the shape first - you can do that by right clicking on the layer with button , and from the menu you can choose " rasterize shape "
With this layer selected, press on CTRL+J a few times ( this shortcut will duplicate the layer)
I will download another set of brushes Dirtygray brushes and i will load this brush in photoshop
after that i will create a new layer ( press CTRL+SHIFT+ALT+N ), and with the following brush
i will add some grunge drawings under my buttons ( i have used the following color #5b5b5b )
From the same set of brushes, i have selected another brush, and i have used also another color #6b0d10
Here is my result
Now i will add a stock image from my personal collection
I will duplicate this layer a few times, then i will change the scale of the image, and i will place it like in the following image
With brush tool, i will add another details on the left side of the layout
Now i will add another image from my stock collection. i will use a microphone
With HORIZONTAL TYPE TOOL
I will add some text:
Now from the same great set of brushes, i will choose the following brush
And i will create a new layer, and with brush tool, i will add the drawings like in the following image
And voila. This is my final result. I hope you like it, and i will wait for you tomorrow for a new tutorial
ReadMore...
9:37:00 AM
In this tutorial, I will demonstrate the steps I took to make this golden ancient text effect in Photoshop. I always love ancient history and have an interest in reading all sorts of history books.
Along the way, we will be looking into techniques such as layer blending effects, loading and expanding selection and image adjustments.
Below is a preview of the final result:
Ok let’s get started!
Step 1
Create a new document sized 1000 x 400 pixel, fill the background layer with Black colour and type some texts onto it. You may use any font you like, I chose this beautiful font from dafont.com.
Position the text as shown below: (You may hit Ctrl + t to bring up the free transformation tool to resize the text a bit)
Step 2
On the text layer, apply the following layer blending options:
Inner Shadow
Outer Glow
Bevel and Emboss
Color Overlay
The effect so far will look like this:
Step 3
Now we’re going to make a selection of the text, which we can use later in the tutorial.
Move your mouse over the text layer, hold down the Ctrl key and left-click on the layer - this will load the selection of the text (as shown below)
Then go to Select > Modify > Expand (Path shown below)
Apply the following setting:
And the selection of the text should now look a bit wider than before:
Step 4
Now we’re going to add some texture to create some ancient feeling for the text.
Download a copy of this image and load it into photoshop. Go back to our own document and press the “M” key to select the Rectangular Marquee Tool, then move your mouse over the text until the cursor turns into a rectangular marquee shape: (see image below)
Then hold down your left mouse button and drag the entire selection over to the newly loaded texture:
Copy and Paste selected area over to our document - This action will automatically create a new layer, name it as “texture”.
Set the blending mode of this layer to “Overlay” and you should have the following effect so far:
Step 5
Duplicate the “texture” layer three times. Apply changes to layer blending as following:
Change the layer blending mode for “texture copy” layer to “Color Dodge”, with an opacity of 40%
Keey the layer blending mode for “texture copy 2″ layer as “Overlay”, with an opacity of 100%
Change the layer blending mode for “texture copy 3″ layer to “Soft Light”, with an opacity of 90%.
And you should now have the following effect:
Step 6
This is an optional step. I feel like adding some depth into the text, so I duplicate the “texture copy 3″ layer once, then hit Ctrl + Alt + Shift + B to bring up the Black and White adjustment tool and apply the following settings on the duplicted layer:
The effect will now look like this:
OK that’s it for this tutorial! The rest is left upon your own creativity, you can add some more texture, adjust colour balance, etc. Totally up to you :)
Below is my final result for this tutorial: (I added a background texture and further adjusted the colour balance)
Hope you enjoy this tutorial and find it useful and inspirational!
As usual, if you have any question, just leave me a comment below.
Thanks very much and have a nice day!
ReadMore...
9:18:00 AM
This tutorial will show you how to create a Christmas theme composition, which can be used for eCards.
We'll start off with a blank 400x300px canvas, and fill with the gradient of your choice:

Need help with Windows dedicated hosting? Try server intellect. I'm a happy customer!
Next, make a selection in the shape of a Christmas tree, something like this:

Next, choose a star shape from the Custom Shapes tool, and in a new layer, make all different sizes of it inside the tree selection. The Custom Shapes will be Paths, so when you're done, right-click the path in the Paths Window (Window > Paths) and choose Make Selection. Now you can fill in the shapes with the color of your choice:

I just signed up at Server Intellect and couldn't be more pleased with my Windows Server! Check it out and see for yourself.
Open up the Layer Styles for this layer and choose an Outer Glow.

Next, add a star Custom Shape to the top of the tree. Then add an Inner Glow layer style, and reduce the Fill opacity down to 0%.

Now we will create snowflake brushes. Create a new document about 50x50px, then draw a Custom Shape of a snowflake:

server intellect offers Windows Hosting dedicatel hosting at affordable prices. I'm very pleased!
Make the background transparent and Select All (Ctrl+A or Select > All). Now goto File > Define Brush Preset. Give it a name and press Ok. This will now be available in your brushes. Repeat this step for all the snowflake custom shapes you want.
When you have all your brushes, go back to the Christmas composition and choose the brush tool. Select one of the snowflake brushes and then goto the Brush settings. Play with these values to achieve the look you desire. First, change Spacing to 200% or more, then check Shape Dynamics and set Size Jitter to 75% or so, Scattering - around 400%, both axes; and Other Dynamics - Opacity Jitter to 100%.



Try Server Intellect for Windows Server Hosting. Quality and Quantity!

Add a new layer to the bottom of the composition, above the background layer. Now paint on the snowflakes - it may take a few tries, as positioning will be random:

Experiment and see what you can come up with. As an added touch to this one, I added green streamers hanging off the tree using the Pen tool and Stroke, and added the lightburst effect to the star using a Custom Shape:

ReadMore...























